Traveller Reviews

After every trip we ask our guests to fill out our survey, and part of that survey includes an option to post an online review. It’s critical for us to get this feedback so that we can constantly find improvements. We’ve been doing this long enough now to know that multi-day, guided trips are full of subtle intricacies, and it’s the focus on these small details that makes the difference between a good trip and a life changing experience.  Anyway, there’s no point in us carrying on about how wonderful our trips are, the best people to listen to are our travellers themselves.

Please let us know if you’d like us to put you directly in touch with one of our past guests. We have a long list of people who would be delighted to share their experiences with you if you’re thinking of coming on a New Zealand Walking Tour. 

 

“Pristine New Zealand January 2018

The guides were first class, they made the trip interesting and fun with their knowledge, good humour and talents. We always felt safe in transport, comfortable in our accommodations and the home-cooked meals were excellent – often better than the restaurants. It was great fun.”

Joe & Diana Horler (Alberta, Canada) Jan 2018, Pristine New Zealand

“Pristine New Zealand Walking Tour

This trip was beyond fabulous. Dan and Kelsey were the perfect guides for us! They adapted the walks for us given we are a little older and live in a very flat state. All hotels were awesome! If I had to change anything, it would be the trip to Waiheke Island (although I liked the ferry ride) and the the geothermal wonderland (crowded with cruise excursion passengers). I loved all the tracks, Milford Sound, the Maori cultural centre (could have spent more time seeing the Maori culture), and Glenorchy. This was an amazing experience and enticed me to visit New Zealand again!”

Jane Lacher (Michigan, USA) Jan 2018, Pristine New Zealand

“Beautiful New Zealand

New Zealand is beautiful. The trip was amazing. Couldn’t ask for better food and accommodations. Our guides were terrific! I Would sign up again without hesitation.”

Kathy Oliver (Virginia, USA) Dec 2017, Elegant South

“Trip of a lifetime.

This trip was over and above what I expected. The food, the scenery and our guides (Amanda and Holly) made it even more special. They even detoured the trip so I could do the bungee jump. Amazing highlight of my trip.”

Jeff Smith (Tennessee, USA) Dec 2017, Elegant South

“One Fantastic Trip

From the first meeting with our two superb guides, Tess and Clair, until our final goodbye we were treated to the finest trip possible. The walks were well planed and spaced with other interesting activities including boat trips into areas we would not have been able to see otherwise. Accommodations were the best each area had to offer. Food was great with fantastic picnic lunches in the wild and the highlight, a Christmas dinner cooked for us at Camp Glenorchy.”

James Costello (Washington, USA) Dec 2017, Beautiful South

“One Great Adventure!

This trip was fantastic and our guides, Claire and Tess, were beyond fantastic. Not only was the itinerary great, but because we were a small group, our guides were completely flexible and able to make adjustments to meet our individual interests. For instance, since we really aren’t big wine drinkers, we skipped some wine tasting and added an extra hike for me and a couple of other sights of interest to us both. Claire and Tess were extremely knowledgeable about the natural history of New Zealand and answered our many questions about culture, history, politics, and just about anything else. Most of all, Claire and Tess were professional, great fun, and amazing cooks, fixing us a wonderful typical Kiwi Christmas dinner as well as great picnic lunches in beautiful surroundings. The overall schedule was perfect as we generally had some down time on our own in the late afternoon before another delicious meal. This trip offers some of the best known tourist attractions but in a personalized, relaxed way. We have been raving to friends and family ever since we got back to the U.S. This was just a fabulous experience. Thank you for offering this new walking tour!”

Jeanne Costello (Washington, USA) Dec 2017, Beautiful South

“Best time yet

This is our third trip to New Zealand, the first two with Active Adventures. The South Island of New Zealand is so incredibly beautiful that you would probably have to be trying to have a bad experience. What really made the trip stand out for us was the excellence of our guides. Amanda and Tory were knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly, just the perfect travel companions!”

Paula Larkin Hutton (California, USA) Dec 2017, Elegant South

“Elegant South

Amanda and Clara did an awesome job as our tour guides. Everyone’s needs were met. Even though this was the inaugural tour, they made it seem like they had done this trip many times over. Amanda did a superb job of driving us all over. Clara kept us well supplied with healthy snacks on the bus. Meals were superb. Wine with practically every meal was quite welcome. They even got the weather to cooperate (most of the time). They were extremely knowledgeable about New Zealand and the particular areas we visited. Although I was the oldest and slowest member of the group, they never made me feel that way. They were so encouraging! Lodging arrangements were quite superb – no complaints there at all. In fact, I can’t come up with any complaint. It was a great experience all around and one I would recommend to anybody.”

Elaine Robak (California, USA) Nov 2017, Elegant South

“Put this tour on your bucket list!

Oh, where does one begin to start describing the amazing trip I experienced? Do I start with the knowledgeable, lovely tour guides or the awesome landscapes we traveled together or the delicious New Zealand foods and wines we tasted? Absolutely everything about this tour from the informative website that prepared us for the tour till we hugged our tour guides goodbye was perfect!! Our intimate group size allowed us to have extra attention lavished upon us at every possible opportunity. Amanda and Clara were a perfect team seeing to our every need and then some. Amanda knew what type of special coffee beverage we liked in the morning and she had it ready for us when we arrived at the breakfast table. They both are great at making a tour group blend into one “fun family of new friends” on an adventure. Speaking of adventures, even though we knew what was planned for the day’s activities there was always several additional surprises awaiting us like a picnic on the beach at sunset with a blanket covered with yummy treats and always a new wine to experience or a midnight walk in the dark to look for glow worms. When someone asks me what I liked best about this tour I honestly have to say that every single minute was great. The New Zealand landscape is unlike any other place in the world. Our tour guides schooled us about all the wonderful plants, animals, birds and other wonders of nature that the we saw on our daily hikes. Oh yes, the hikes! This tour offered a variety of hiking trails that had spectacular views the the land, sea, mountains and wildlife. I could go on and on but you just have to go there to enjoy the beautiful country for yourself. I highly recommend this wonderful tour of the South of New Zealand because New Zealand Walking Tours knows how make you feel like a VIP! Thank you one and all.”

Nancy Crawford (California, USA) Nov 2017, Elegant South

“Elegant South – Amazing!

The trip thoroughly exceeded my expectations. Clara and Amanda were simply awesome guides. I cannot say enough positive things about my experience.”

David Schmitt (Illinois, USA) Nov 2017, Elegant South

Why Travel With Us?

We’re a modest lot us Kiwi’s, but we really are the only New Zealand-based company to offer this level of service and expertise. With over 21 years of experience running life changing trips – we’ve perfected the art of small group travel, and we’ve introduced a slice of world-class elegance that’ll surpass every one of your greatest expectations.

Unbeatable Local Knowledge

Our team have spent their lives immersed in the places we go. Our trip itineraries are created based on our favourite childhood holiday spots, secret hideaways we’ve kept under our hats, the places where we proposed to our spouses, and areas we’ll keep going back to in our free time, for the rest of our lives. It’s made our New Zealand journeys authentic, timeless and beautifully crafted.

First-Class New Zealand Guides

A good guide points out features, provides information and context, and connects the dots on a trip. A first class guide is a host who pours their heart and soul into the trip, takes it personally, and will move heaven and earth make it all come together seamlessly. That doesn’t happen easily – we dedicate ourselves to selecting, training and supporting the absolute best travel leaders in New Zealand.

Superb Food & Wine

New Zealand is firmly on the map when it comes to fine wine and unique, refreshing dining experiences. We showcase the culinary uniqueness and local wines of the regions we visit. To us, they’re an equally important part of the New Zealand experience, complementing our beautiful landscapes perfectly!

Unique experiences in stunning locations

It’s as much about the ‘where’ as it is the ‘what’ when it comes to a beautiful New Zealand experience. We not only walk through stunning landscapes to unforgettable places, but we make sure the journey is dotted with captivating stories, great food & wine and a few surprises that will have you brimming with stories of your own when you return back home.

Adventure at a leisurely pace

What’s the rush? We’ll slip on our best pair of walking shoes and journey into the most beautiful places in New Zealand. And to soak it all in properly, it makes sense to take our time and not necessarily set ourselves challenges that are a race against daylight hours. That means having the choice to walk, explore and escape at a pace that suits you. Slow down, soak it in, breath in the fresh air, properly feel the ground beneath your feet.

20+ Years Experience

Good things take time, including learning to run first class New Zealand journeys. Time to learn and understand how to be amazing hosts, seek out those hidden places that aren’t so easily seen on a map, and bring together every ingredient to create the perfect trip. It’s a journey we’ve taken for the last 20 years, and a path we’ll stay on in pursuit of providing immaculate trips that you’ll never forget.

Our Trips

Elegant South

A walking experience that takes in the best of the South Island from top to bottom. From the picture perfect inlets and hidden coves of the Marlborough Sounds, pristine golden sands and lush forest of Abel Tasman, to wine country of Queenstown and grandeur of Milford Sound..

US$6999 + TAX10 Days

Timeless North

When it comes to variety, the North Island delivers superbly. Sample fine wine, walk in incredible geothermal landscapes in the volcanic central plateau and Rotorua area. Take a lake cruise surrounded by ancient podocarp forest and discover the wild west coast and iconic volcanic cone of Mt Taranaki.

US$6599 + TAX10 Days

Beautiful South

The far south of New Zealand is defined by dramatic and beautiful mountain landscapes waiting to be experienced on foot, in the air, and from the water. Relaxing, adventurous and comfortable in a location like no other on the planet – the Wakatipu basin, Fiordland and the Great Walks of New Zealand are all on show in this incredible trip.

US$5999 + TAX10 Days

Pristine New Zealand

Experience both islands in all their grandeur. This trip is the quintessential fine walking adventure, seamlessly blending beautiful landscapes with comfort and style.

US$8499 + TAX13 Days

New Zealand Walking Tours is proudly presented by Active Adventures, global leaders in delivering adventure trips of a lifetime.

Pin It on Pinterest